Did God create transgender? (1a)

Part one A: comments and replies

On Monday, I will post Part Two: Now how shall we live? Today, I post these comments to my Part One essay, which a friend posted on Facebook. Her thoughts, which I suspect are shared by many, provided me more good ground to cultivate.

Her comment: I’ve been thinking a lot about why “good” might be [what honked me off]. God is bigger than “good” and people always want to pinpoint what is “good” to God and its laughable. And unnecessary.

My reply: Yes, God is bigger than “good,” but that statement in this discussion does nothing. Yes, people always want to pinpoint what is “good” to God and it IS laughable because it is human opinion and not what God’s Word says.

Everything I believe, teach, and confess about the basics of life come from God’s Word, and with the guidance of the Holy Spirit I strive not to let my opinion, or anyone else’s, corrupt it.

I respectfully disagree that it is unnecessary to pinpoint what is good and not good. When we leave vital things to human opinion, we have a mess.

  • A violent punk thinks it is good to break your car windows and steal what is valuable. Would you ever agree with him on that?
  • A man thinks it is good to smack around his wife to get her in line. Would any right-minded person agree with that?
  • A child thinks he can lie about having done his homework so he can go and play, and hides his vegetables because they offend him, and screams at his parents when they direct him to bed at a time that is good for him but he doesn’t agree. In any of this, could this be considered to be good behavior?

Her comment: Figuring out the “why” of your transgender doesn’t make you any less transgender.

My reply: I am not concerned with making myself less (or more) transgender. Learning the “whys” behind this has been very helpful in grasping and dealing with my condition, just as anyone wants questions answered for the big things in their lives. But, why I am transgender—as far as how it specifically happened to me—does not enter into the discussion of this essay. The essay covers the “why” of all things which are not “good” in the biblical definition.

As I was driving home from the grocery store this morning, having not yet received your reply after your initial “this has honked me off,” I was thinking about what it might have so affected you, and then I thought, “I always say that I SUFFER from gender dysphoria. No one uses ‘suffer’ for anything that is good. That I use that word comes completely naturally, which makes sense because I hate that I spent my life suffering this.”

Her comment: But I have a hard time thinking that God looks down and says you are not “good.”

My reply: Consider the following two verses:

  • Psalm 14:3: “They have all turned aside; together they have become corrupt; there is none who does good, not even one.”
  • Psalm 51:5: “Surely I was sinful at birth, sinful from the time my mother conceived me.”

Remember, “sinful” means way more than our actively breaking a commandment. “Sinful” is a broad term which encompasses everything which is not righteous, that which is corrupt, everything that entered the world because of Adam’s disobedience. “Sinful” is the exact opposite of the biblical word “good” as used in the creation account.

Outside of Christ, God sees no one as good. This world is completely corrupted, every human and all things. Regarding humans, Romans 3:23: “All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,” and regarding all of creation, Romans 8:21-22: “Creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God. We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time.” Finally, Romans 14:23: “Everything that does not come from faith is sin.”

Therefore, outside of Christ all is corrupt, all is sin, and all would be lost. BUT, the good news is that God so loved the world that He gave His only Son (John 3:16) and in Christ we are GOOD in the Father’s sight. We are clothed with Christ (Galatians 3:27) and because Christ is good the Father sees His goodness covering our corruption and sinfulness.

This is not a discussion about human opinions about what is good and what is not. This is strictly a discussion of the Truth which, thankfully, God the Holy Spirit has revealed to us in the Holy Bible so that we might know His correct rule and norm for our lives.

Her comment: And also, there is no way in the world that God doesn’t look down on a little baby born with Down Syndrome and doesn’t say, “You, my child, are the GOODEST thing I have ever done.”

My reply: God looks at the Down Syndrome person exactly the same way He looks at every single person. He does not play favorites (Acts 10:34) as humans do. Babies are not more precious to him than snotty teenagers, or adultery-committing adults, or failing elderly folks, or starving children, or you name it. He is holy. His love for all is perfect.

Her comment: Nothing matters to me more than living in a way that leads people to Jesus. That’s all I care about. Periphery makes no matter to me. Maybe it should and it certainly used to.

My reply: I agree with you wholeheartedly that I also want to live in a way that leads people to Jesus. This is hard! It got way harder for me when I was whisked away from the safety of the congregation and into the secular world, especially the LGBT world where I am a “freak,” if you will. I have yet to meet another trans person who is a conservative Christian, who reads the Bible in the traditional manner. I often wonder what they think of me!

But, kowtowing to the ideas and ways of the world does no one any good and, in fact, does harm. We shall not create a false god, because that leads to a false Jesus, which gives no one true faith and the sure and certain hope of eternal life.

I pray this was helpful. I hope part two also will be.

Leave a Reply

