Pics from vocal cord surgery

Vocal cord surgery is an out-patient procedure, but just because one is able to go home the same day doesn’t mean that everything else doesn’t apply—no food or drink since the previous evening, general anesthesia, plenty of post-surgical pain on the affected area, prescriptions to get filled and take, and loads of do this and don’t do that instructions for the coming days.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Ready for surgery! I tried to sneak the hat into my purse, so wanting it to be my first church hat!

img_20170119_075858114

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Julie sneaked into the OR to snap this picture of the action.

o-operation-game-570

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

After surgery. I had been awake for a few minutes, as can be seen in that I had written a few notes but, wow, the grogginess kept taking me over again.

IMG_20170119_121027409.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I could not understand why the nurse was saying, “I’m having a hard time reading your writing.” I looked at it and it appeared straight and clear! Only after the fog lifted from my brain was I in on the problem.

IMG_20170119_123334059.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I presume after my handwriting improved, displaying that I was more clear-minded, I was offered my first drink.

IMG_20170119_123354654.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Ah, that ice water was so refreshing and felt so goooooood on my throat.

IMG_20170119_123412397.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Next, a bit of applesauce for my terribly empty stomach. My entire first day menu consisted of more applesauce, cream of chicken soup,. and water. Lots and lots of water will be my companion as it will aid in healing.

IMG_20170119_123543386.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

When the nurse asked if I wanted ice water or apple juice, I couldn’t resist to make one of my favorite jokes: I’ll have a Gina colada! She got it, and she and Julie laughed as I stifled the natural reaction to chuckle.  No audible giggling for me these days.

IMG_20170119_135517395.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Just about ready to head home. As soon as we hit the fresh air outside, I became very nauseated. The last thing I needed was to be retching! Thankfully, only a slight spasm was unstoppable and my stomach soon was back to normal.

IMG_20170119_130109080.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I will be wearing this pin everywhere I go for these twelve days of total silence. On January 31, it will be added to what is becoming quite the number of mementos from my transition.

img_20170119_165044773

3 thoughts on “Pics from vocal cord surgery

  1. And when you are allowed to speak again, you’ll have mastered nonverbal communication and find speaking overrated. You’ll just look and nod, and they will carry out your unspoken orders. Oh, the power you shall wield.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We have a Brad Grierson sighting!

      Hey, bud, don’t make me laugh. I started to, which caused me to begin coughing, which made me work hard to stifle it with the silent cough procedure. Thankfully, I was able to do so! 🙂

      Now, about your thoughts. I believe you are onto something. I have long sought broader, deeper powers. I will cultivate this over the final eight days. It will be a key theme in my Make Gina Great Again program Gina Alone! Gina First! More fuel for my sinful nature! Woo hoo!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

