My breakfast burrito recipe

Simple. Quick. Delicious. And don’t forget that it’s filling—enough to hold you until lunch. That’s my breakfast burrito. And that’s me, below, enjoying one on January 28, 2021.

I fell in love with breakfast burritos because of McDonald’s. Theirs became my go-to on-the-road breakfast. A couple of years ago, I found myself wanting to make them at home. I began experimenting. It wasn’t long before I landed on the recipe I make about four mornings each week.

The ingredients:

  • Two eggs
  • Cheddar cheese
  • Two breakfast sausages
  • One tortilla shell
  • Hot sauce

Crack two eggs into your favorite skillet. Drop some cheese onto them.

Microwave the sausage. They take 40 seconds in my microwave.

Cut them into small pieces and add them to the eggs. As you flip the eggs, cut them up so as to mix all of the contents.

Ready one tortilla.

Plop on the goods. Add some hot sauce, or whatever you like. Perhaps, some salsa? Hot peppers? Chocolate fudge? (Okay, I was kidding about the salsa.)

From start to start-eating: under ten minutes!

If you are counting calories, the burrito clocks in at 440:

  • 140: 2 grade A large eggs
  • 120: 2 breakfast link sausages
  • 130: tortilla shell
  • 50: no more than 1/8 cup cheese
  • 0: hot sauce

That’s enough protein and carb calories to satisfy and keep you until lunch, and it’s few enough not to blow up a healthy count for the day.

A neat thing about this recipe is that the ingredients perfectly fit into the shells. Fold it up and enjoy! Let’s give one more look at the happy diner these breakfast burritos make out of me:

Leave a comment