Ginny’s great idea

“I’m going to order three copies of your book to give as Christmas gifts.”

I was so pleased with Ginny’s great idea that I found it a splendid way to encourage others to do the same.

This photo is from 11.5.22. After Saturday evening worship, a bunch of us always go out to eat. In the rear, flanking my Julie, are Rosie and Bob. Six others were gathered with us at Culver’s.

Julie and I love hanging with this gang. Why? Because they make us feel so young! Oh, and they’re also loads of fun.

Ginny is full of more than great ideas. A few weeks ago, I saw her outside our church’s entrance.

She smiled. “I’m reading your book.”

I responded with a loud, “Yay!”

She continued, “It’s so good, I had to put it down so that I wouldn’t read the whole thing in one sitting.”

“I’m so glad you’re enjoying it!”

After worship, our gang headed out to eat. At the restaurant, we had this exchange, in which she paid me a hilarious, backhanded compliment:

“The writing is so good.”

“I’m glad you think so.”

“Do you use a ghostwriter?”

I said, “What?!” and laughed hard. I continued, “Ginny, first of all, that’s not a compliment! Second, I don’t have money to spend on a ghostwriter. And, third, remember that I was a pastor and wrote sermons all the time.”

Then, I thought the next idea would imply why I could be a creative writer: “Besides, I’m also a really good liar!”

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

John Z is a Lutheran minister, but don’t let that scare you off, fearing this might be a churchy book. I wouldn’t want to read a book like that, so why would I foist it on anyone else?

Having myself been a pastor, I strived to write an authentic account of what ministers experience. Read that: they work long hours, are regularly going this way and that, and face with their members every situation life hands them.

I wanted John Z to be fun and intriguing, so I’ve filled it with humor and mystery, trouble and heartache. I made John Zyskowski a bachelor, so that he might find himself in romantic situations—and he does!

The book is appropriate for adults and high-schoolers. There’s no foul language or sex, but be aware of a situation with a woman on the brink of ending her life.

Readers have been graciously generous with their 100% 5-STAR reviews. Here are a few:

Absolutely LOVED the book, could not put it down. Felt like I knew the people personally. Can not wait for a sequel!! ❤️

Humorous and well written. Solid theology.

This book was great! I felt like I knew the town & people personally! I would love a sequel.

As for a sequel, look for it early in 2023, with another to come in what I envision as a three-book series.

Click here for a preview of “John Z,” read other reviews, and to order: https://www.amazon.com/John-Z-Greg-Eilers/dp/B09RP7JC25/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

While you’re at it, check out my brand new novel, Making Paul Schneider: https://www.amazon.com/Making-Paul-Schneider-Greg-Eilers/dp/B0BL1RWCDH/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

Here’s its first review:

Leave a comment