Walk! Jog! The benefits are many!

2022 means I’m in my 43rd year of jogging and walking—these days, I mix in walking days as rest days. I go out five, six, seven days a week.

A typical outing is five to six miles. I’ve run seven many times, and eight a half dozen. In 2000, I decided to run ten once and did it. I run by myself; I don’t care to enter events.

I’m turning 65 the week I post this. Six weeks ago, I got the crazy notion to better my ten-miler, to prove to myself that, though I can stop the numbers in my age from increasing, I don’t have to get all old and moldy.

I began upping my miles and increasing my pace. Today, with the temperature in the low 40s, but with a brisk wind from the northwest, and after a rest day because of a lot of rain, I took off forty minutes earlier than usual.

The video tells the rest.

I began distance running in 1980. I was 23. Living near the high school, one day I decided to run the track. After a few times on that, I hit the streets. I never stopped. Even more, since I retired I put in more miles each year than ever, averaging over 1,000 per year since we moved south, from Michigan to Indianapolis, and I became a year-round runner.

Why do I do it? First, I’ve always enjoyed running and walking. Second, the benefits are too many and important not to get out and move every day that I can.

Don’t just believe me. Reader’s Digest recently ran the following two pieces.

Folks sometimes say that exercising wears out the body. The opposite is true, and the benefits of getting out and moving are exactly what we need as we age. And, to read that we can help protect ourselves from cancer? Wow! To me, it makes sense: the better our bodies work, the more equipped they are to fend off diseases.

The benefits of exercise are physical and mental/emotional. Many are the times I’ve been depressed, or down about something specific, and I went out and ran. It has always helped.

Of course, when you feel lousy, it’s hard to motivate yourself. That’s where experience comes in for me. I tell myself, “You know that after you get a few blocks under your belt you’ll be glad you’re out here.” And I am. Every time.

Also, we need sunshine. Being exposed to the sun creates vitamin D. Check out the article from healthline.com, where you’ll see how vitamin D especially protects us from cancer, depression, and osteoporosis. Here’s the link:

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/vitamin-d-from-sun#overview

Don’t wear sunblock, and don’t go out in the middle of the day. I do my running in the morning. From late spring to early fall, I get done by 10:30, and on the days I have to go out in the afternoon I wait until 4:00. The rest of the year, I’m not concerned about what time I go out, because the angle of the sun keeps it from being harmful—I like to go out from 10 to 11:30.

My blood pressure is splendid. No concerns about my blood sugar. My knees and everything else are strong and work well. For 65, I’m pleased with my body and health.

I encourage you to get out there, to get the benefits, and to enjoy good health!

Do I appear triumphant because I just ran six miles? Or because I know the health benefits I’ve received? Or because I’m glad to be done? Yes. Yes! and YES!

2 thoughts on “Walk! Jog! The benefits are many!

    1. Hey, Brad ~ Thanks!

      As for my knees, I have no pain, whatsoever. The benefit of regular running and walking is the muscles around the knees are strengthened, and bone grows. The old thinking was that we wear out our knees if we use them too much, but now we understand the opposite. Indeed, my reading informs me that a person who had knee trouble can reverse it with regular exercise – just do what you can, don’t overdo it, and keep at it.

      Go for it, Brad! You’re young(er) yet. The time is now. The Lord be with you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment