How I published my novel

Did you know it is possible to publish your book without spending a penny?

You can do so by publishing it yourself—and it’s not hard to do.

Here’s how I recently did it with my novel, “John Z,” and previously with two non-fiction books.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

1. Write your book

I prefer to write in my word processing program. You can write online, including on Reedsy, which is the site I use for typesetting.

2. Typeset your book

Since I use Reedsy, here’s what you can do with it:

  • Set up your book by chapters.
  • Format everything you desire: use chapter titles or not; put words in italics, bold, or underline them.
  • Create your own copyright page from their suggestions or write your own.
  • Write a preface, introduction, foreword, dedication, and author page.
  • When you download the finished book, it arranges those pages and your chapters into a Table of Contents.

When I copied my text to Reedsy, it did not retain text I had specialized—for me, that means italics. I had to locate each one in my word document and italicize those things on Reedsy.

When done uploading and formatting, you proceed to typesetting. Reedsy allows you to choose from a few formats, book sizes, and typefaces. It typesets ebooks and printed books separately.

Typesetting happens quickly. Within a minute or two, they send an email with your file to download. Once downloaded, you unzip the file for uploading it to your publisher.

3. Publishing online

I use Amazon’s publishing website: Kindle Direct Publishing, known as KDP ( https://kdp.amazon.com/). KDP covers every last item of the process.

Publishing on KDP takes place on Bookshelf.

4. Book cover

My son-in-law is an artist, and he did a great job with the book cover for my novel. If you don’t have that option, fear not. You can create your book cover on KDP.

Ebooks require only a front cover. Formatting is easy. Printed versions require front, spine, and back. KDP provides a template, which is created by the book size you choose and the number of pages of your book. The template is created after you upload your manuscript. They provide everything you need, including options for art.

5. The publishing process

KDP takes you through the steps:

  • First, you register your name, address, and everything needed for them to pay your royalties.
  • Next, you select your format and upload your manuscript. Then, you either upload your book cover or create it on KDP.
  • Then, you peruse your ebook online, or order a proof of your paperback.
  • Finally, you set your selling price, marketplace, royalty options, etc.

KDP is easy to use! Any time you do something that doesn’t work right, or you forget a step, they catch it and provide clear information so you can get it right and proceed. If you aren’t sure of something, their Help menus (which I’ve used a number of times) provide every answer.

When uploading your manuscript, it takes several minutes for it to be processed. The same goes for the book cover. If there is a problem with your upload, you get a message. When you have it right, “Your manuscript uploaded successfully!” is a wonderful message to receive!

A screenshot from my first book. What a great feeling to see this!

You also get a note whether there are any spelling errors (see bottom of pic, above). I had no errors on my first two books. In my novel, I created some words, so when they were caught as errors I was able to check each one and approve them.

Of course, no spelling errors does not mean no errors of all types, such as missing words (I’ve had those), or a wrong word (example: I had an our where I wanted an or). Or, perhaps you simply decide you want a different word or to change a sentence or entire paragraph. The good news is that you can make your corrections and reupload your manuscript.

I’ve reuploaded my books numerous times.

You have the opportunity of getting a proof copy. Do it. Reading your book in hand, off the printed page, is different from off a screen. I always find errors and things to change, including with the cover.

When you have the publishing process completed, you price your book. It’s in your hands to set the price. They provide a range—the lowest- and highest dollar amounts. I look at prices of lots of books—similar types and number of pages—and set prices that will make my books competitively priced and provide me an acceptable profit.

You’re all done! Now, your book goes to KDP’s review process. The initial publish takes two or three days to be approved. If they detect a problem, they send an email with details as to what needs to be addressed. All revisions return to the review process, but are approved within hours.

6. ISBN and bar code

An ISBN (International Standard Book Number) is not required for an ebook. KDP assigns a unique number for ebooks.

When publishing a printed version, KDP will provide an ISBN.

They also provide the bar code for the back cover. Note, on the template, above, the yellow rectangle where the UPC goes. When you create your cover separate from their cover creator, you need to leave that space blank.

7. So, did publishing cost me anything?

I had Staples print my manuscript twice, to be able to read it off the page and mark it up. On 8″ x 11″ paper, my approximately 87,000 words cost about twenty bucks.

8. How long does it all take?

As with gas mileage, your writing time will vary. As for the other steps, I can load a book onto Reedsy, format it, then load it onto KDP in a few days, working four- to six hours a day.

9. What have I forgotten?

Surely, I’ve not covered everything. Oh! Here’s one I forgot: KDP will print as few as one book at a time. That’s important, because I often sell only one book in a given day.

If you uncover anything else I’ve missed, post it in the comments and I’ll reply quickly.

Now, back to writing my next novel, so I can add to my Amazon book page:

One thought on “How I published my novel

Leave a comment