The podcasts of my life

I am a modern, hip, cool dude. Therefore, I listen to podcasts.

Wait just a sec, I’ve been on three podcasts! Wow, I’m cooler and more hip than I realized!

Here are my eight go-to podcasts, with notes on each one. I listen to them using TuneIn radio.

Who doesn’t listen to Josh and Chuck? These guys present, well, stuff you should know from every realm of life—remarkable people, social issues, oddities, history, you name it—and do it in an easy-to-understand way. They are naturally funny, and are not afraid to makes jokes about anything, always keeping it family-friendly. Each program has plenty of laughs and loads of info.

  • Hosts: Josh Clark and Charles W. “Chuck” Bryant.
  • New episodes Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays (Short Stuff), and Saturday (selected show from the past)
  • Length: 45-60 minutes; Short Stuffs are 12-18 minutes.

My son introduced Julie and me to The Office a few episodes into the first season. We rarely missed an episode during its nine season run on NBC. A few years after it ended, we began watching it on Netflix. We must have streamed through every episode a half dozen times.

In Office Ladies, two stars from The Office are re-watching the series, from the beginning. They give a play-by-play of each episode, provide background information, interview stars, writers, and directors, talk about outtakes, and exude the best-friend relationship they have. If you know The Office well, every episode of the podcast is a good time.

  • Hosts: Angela Kinsey (Angela) and Jenna Fischer (Pam)
  • New episodes each Wednesday
  • Length: An hour to ninety minutes

I began listening to Left, Right, and Center via NPR during the presidential race in 2016. When my station removed it, I took it up as my first podcast. I like it because it does what the title says: the host plays the center and has a left-liberal and a right-conservative guest. They cover what’s in the news at the moment, along with larger, longer-term issues.

  • Host: Josh Barro
  • New episodes each Friday
  • Length: 55 minutes

The Daily is just that, not counting weekends. It covers things in the news in a very listenable, informative way.

  • Host: Michael Barbaro
  • New episodes Monday through Friday
  • Length: 20 to 50 minutes

I got to know the host from listening to his book, The Tipping Point. In the podcast, he looks at people and topics from the past, providing insights on things overlooked, ignored, or misunderstood. Some topics are downright riveting. All are enlightening.

  • Host: Malcom Gladwell
  • Seasonal format: five seasons available, ten episodes each
  • Length: 30 to 40 minutes

The newest of my podcasts, hosted by one half of the team from Virtue in the Wasteland, on which Julie and I were interviewed in 2016. On this new show, the hosts “offer and receive lessons in outfoxing religious wolves reforming religious education so everyone can be spiritually bold, free of manipulation and filled with deep peace.”

  • Hosts: Jeff & Stacie Mallinson
  • New episodes: it varies; usually one or two each week
  • Length: 10 to 90 minutes

Julie got me on to this, when she had downloaded a number of episodes for a road trip. Hidden Brain reveals how our brains work. Do you think you know your brain? Think again! Listen to this podcast. It is fascinating.

  • Host: Shankar Vedantam
  • New episodes: usually one each week
  • Length: 20 to 55 minutes

I began listening to this during the 2020 presidential race. Though I lean conservative, I appreciate the discussion of things happening in American politics from those who are pro-Democrat.

  • Hosts: Jon Favreau, Daniel Pfeiffer, Jon Lovett, Tommy Vietor
  • New episodes each Monday and Thursday
  • Length: an hour to 1:15

Leave a comment